The Future

As a public relations student one thing that I worry about besides dealing with school and all that entails is getting a job in the future as a public relations practitioner.

In todays public relations industry their are so many candidates that apply for jobs and each individual will have there certain areas where they will succeed.  I know my strengths that I have personally: dilegent, creative, and works well with others.  What I am worried about is that I am not going to stick out enough to the employers.  The reason I feel this way is because I have not had an internship in this field yet.

Photo Credit: bjornmeansbear via Compfight cc

Photo Credit: bjornmeansbear via Compfight cc

I believe that by having an internship that will help me stand out against all the other candidates.  In the near future I plan on looking for an internship and applying for one as well.  I have done minimal research but I need to do some more extensive research here in the near future.  I believe that joining PRSSA will help me in finding an internship.

Last week I went to my first PRSSA meeting. I was intrigued with how much PRSSA can further your knowledge, help make connections, as well as build my self-confidence when it comes to working in the public relations field in the future.

As I continue my education I am very eager to learn more about public relations.  I believe that I will constantly be worrying about my future until I have secured a full-time job.  I understand that I have a long road ahead of me before then but I am willing to work hard to get there.  I am truly excited to see where the future takes me and what path I will take in life.

Leave a comment