CH 6: Legal Influences

As a public relations students one thing that I always worry about is the legal actions that can be taken against a writer.  I would like to be able to take a class that specifically informed me about all the laws and what to look out for. One day when I’m in my profession I don’t want to be side swept with a legal issue.

Photo Credit: Saad.Akhtar via Compfight cc

Photo Credit: Saad.Akhtar via Compfight cc

In chapter 6, we learn bits and pieces about different legal constraints. One example the book gives is the Nike vs Kasky court case. The issue dealt with  Nike and the overseas employment practices.  The one quote that I will take away the most from this chapter in the book is, ” It is better to check before you cross the one than to be sorry later.  This quote just goes to show you that you need to be knowledgeable about what the laws are and how you need to make sure you are not crossing this very thin line.

The issue public relations practitioners have when it comes to legal issues is usually ownership and gaining access to information.  I personally know that this is issue because when I add photos to my blog I can only use certain websites. I do not want to use other people’s work so in order for me to not have to deal with any legal actions I use  images from compfight.com or I upload my own images I’ve taken.

Every little thing you do or that you use that is someone else’s can cause you to deal with a legal issue, so knowing the laws and practicing the laws will help ensure that you do not have any legal issues in the future.

Leave a Reply

